Members Directory | Contact Us | Home
Christ Lives Within Us
Board Meeting Minutes
March 9, 2017
BOARD MEETING MINUTES
MARCH 9, 2017

Call to Order:  President Steve Rayne called the meeting to order at 8:30 a.m.

Prayer and Pledge of Allegiance:  Steve Rayne

Present:  Ashby, Barnard, Elkin, Gaines, Potell, Rayne, Toth, Walschburger, Zoch 
Absent:   Beale, Blair, Kivela, Miller, St.John 

Sergeant at Arms:  Robert Crane -absent  

Parliamentarian:  Ed Aldridge

Determination of Quorum: A quorum was present.

Treasurer’s Report and Minutes of Previous Meeting: 
Motion by Walschburger, 2nd by Potell to approve minutes and treasurer’s report as printed.  Voice Vote.  Motion Carried.

President – Steve Rayne:
Burial Fund President Jay Gause will speak at the business meeting.
Secure Legacy Representative Stephanie Salcedo, a funeral planning service, will be at the March meeting with door prizes. [More]
 
Business Meeting Minutes
March 9, 2017
3/14/17
BUSINESS MEETING MINUTES
MARCH 9, 2017

Call to Order: President Steve Rayne called meeting to order at 9:55 a.m.

Prayer and Pledge of Allegiance:  Chaplain Monty Montgomery  

Minutes of Previous Meeting:
Motion by Forrest Turbeville, 2nd by Fred Walschburger to approve the minutes as printed. Voice Vote. Motion Carried.

Chaplain Monty Montgomery 
Thanked members who donated to the Children’s Church at Freeway Manor Baptist Church. [More]
 

Retiree Roundup
April 13, 2017
Retiree Round Up
April 13, 2017

Al Lotz (3-08-17rh) We visited with Al today and found that he had suffered three TIA STROKES and was hospitalized for several days.  He is now home recovering and will be having several other tests regarding blockage of arteries.  Al has been training for this year's MS-150, which he has participated in for numerous years.   He is so bummed that chances are he won't be ready to ride in the years ride from Houston to Austin, but he does realize how lucky he is that this happened now rather than on a training ride. He is so blessed. [More]
 

Northeast Station Breakfast
10/26/15
Every FIRST SATURDAY of each month at 7:30 am, at the GOLDEN CORRAL, 9663 FM 1960 W. bypass (just west on FM 1960 @ the Eastex Fwy.) Humble. Former Northeast officers 

 


 

Legislative Update #3
As appearing on HPOPS.org
04/25/2017

Many police officers and retired police officers have been asking what they can do in the legislature to protect their benefits both now and into the future.  The time for you to act is now!  There is a concerted effort by many, including firefighters and Bill King, to block the issuance of pension obligation bonds by the City and to destroy your benefits by making sure that newly hired police officers will be put into a defined contribution plan.  The effect of a defined contribution plan is to starve the cash flow of HPOPS which potentially could cause cuts in your benefit.  Senator Bettencourt appears to be helping the firefighters in this cause.

 So what can you do? 

HB 43 is currently in the House Calendars Committee mainly because of the efforts of Houston Firefighters.  We need you to email and call the below listed Representatives who are on the Calendars Committee.  You should be polite when talking to the Representatives or their staff members.  It is extremely important that you are polite.

?What should you say? 

Tell the person you speak with that you are a Houston Police Officer/Retired Houston Police Officer and you are calling in regards to HB 43 by Representative Flynn.  You have been informed that the bill is currently in the Calendars Committee and it is important to you and your family that HB 43 be reported out of Calendars so it can be voted on by the House of Representatives.  It is important that the HB 43 passes so that your families retirement will be secure. 

 What should you write in your email?


 Dear Representative:

 

I am a Houston Police Officer/Retired Houston Police Officer and I would like to strongly encourage you to pass HB 43 out of the Calendars Committee as soon as possible.  HB 43 is important to me and my family because it will protect my retirement by making it more sustainable now and into the future.  I understand that some members of the Calendars Committee are unsure as to whether or not to set HB 43 on the House Calendar so it can become law.  My retirement is important to me and my family because it is the main source of retirement income that we, Houston Police Officers, have.  Please understand that as Houston Police Officers we do not participate in Social Security and our retirement benefit from the Houston Police Officers’ Pension System is very importance to our retirement.

Your help in this matter is greatly appreciated.

Respectfully,

 

 Your Name

Houston Police Officer or Retired Houston Police Officer


Whom should you call and email? 

Once you start calling and emailing, do not stop until we ask you to stop.  The list of Representatives, their phone numbers and emails are as follows:

Representative: Phone Number: Email:
Roberto Alonzo 512-463-0408 roberto.alonzo@house.texas.gov
Trent Ashby 512-463-0508 trent.ashby@house.texas.gov
Byron Cook 512-463-0730 byron.cook@house.texas.gov
Sarah Davis 512-463-0389 sarah.davis@house.texas.gov 
Charlie Geren 512-463-0610 charlie.geren@house.texas.gov
Helen Giddings 512-463-0953 helen.giddings@house.texas.gov
Donna Howard / Vice Chair 512-463-0631 donna.howard@house.texas.gov
Todd Hunter / Chair 512-463-0672 todd.hunter@house.texas.gov
Kyle Kacal 512-463-0412 kyle.kacal@house.texas.gov
Ken King 512-463-0736 ken.king@house.texas.gov
Linda Koop 512-463-0454 linda.koop@house.texas.gov
Alfonso "Poncho" Nevarez 512-463-0566 poncho.nevarez@house.texas.gov
Chris Paddie 513-463-0556 chris.paddie@house.texas.gov
Dade Phelan 513-463-0706 dade.phelan@house.texas.gov
Toni Rose 513-463-0664 toni.rose@house.texas.gov

 We appreciate your assistance in this critical endeavor.

 

HPOPS Board of Trustees

Family Assistance Update
April 2017
4/01/17
Wiley Douglass UPDATE (4-20-17 mdb) Just got off the phone with Jean Douglass.  Wiley’s been making progress with the rehab workouts but his feeding tube came out last night and they had to take him back to the hospital ER.  She had to fight with the hospital but finally got a bariatric surgeon to operate today.  He told her he got it fixed the proper way it should have been done the first time.  Anyway, she’s hoping they can get back into the rehab center tomorrow so they won’t have to try to go through all of the readmitting procedure they require if you’re out more than three days. [More]
 

  Retired Badge

 



© 2017, Houston Police Retired Officers Association. All rights reserved.